Skip to main content

[BLOG TOUR & GIVEAWAY] REVIEW: Trust Me, I'm Lying by Mary Elizabeth Summer


 Trust Me, I'm Lying by Mary Elizabeth Summer
Published by Delacorte Press on 14th October 2014
Pages: 336
Source: *Received in exchange for an honest review*

Fans of Ally Carter, especially her Heist Society readers, will love this teen mystery/thriller with sarcastic wit, a hint of romance, and Ocean’s Eleven–inspired action.

Julep Dupree tells lies. A lot of them. She’s a con artist, a master of disguise, and a sophomore at Chicago’s swanky St. Agatha High, where her father, an old-school grifter with a weakness for the ponies, sends her to so she can learn to mingle with the upper crust. For extra spending money Julep doesn’t rely on her dad—she runs petty scams for her classmates while dodging the dean of students and maintaining an A+ (okay, A-) average.

But when she comes home one day to a ransacked apartment and her father gone, Julep’s carefully laid plans for an expenses-paid golden ticket to Yale start to unravel. Even with help from St. Agatha’s resident Prince Charming, Tyler Richland, and her loyal hacker sidekick, Sam, Julep struggles to trace her dad’s trail of clues through a maze of creepy stalkers, hit attempts, family secrets, and worse, the threat of foster care. With everything she has at stake, Julep’s in way over her head . . . but that’s not going to stop her from using every trick in the book to find her dad before his mark finds her. Because that would be criminal.
Addictive, page-turning and smart. Trust Me, I'm Lying will certainly leave a positive lasting impression; a definite read for all Ally Carter fans like myself! I love the cover. So dark and mysterious, with the use of the shadows and necklace really capture your eye.

Julep Dupree is a grifter. An expert in her profession, Julep only learnt from the best… until he goes missing and she finds her apartment turned upside down. With the leader trying to find and capture her, Julep recruits her best friend and hacker Sam alongside the charmingly popular Tyler to help her find her Dad whilst uncovering stalkers, family secrets and a herd of criminals.

"Your story is your best offence; your disguise is your best defense."
Trust Me, I'm Lying by Mary Elizabeth Summer

Julep Dupree was a smart, witty and yet easily likeable character. Julep was a female protagonist who did not rely on anyone else, and though her actions were not always lawful, she had the best intentions to help out those around her. Julep thought carefully through most of her plans which showed maturity and thoughtfulness.What I liked most about her character through the progression of the novel, is she began to find her true self.

"When you can be anybody, you become nobody."
Trust Me, I'm Lying by Mary Elizabeth Summer

The plot of this novel was fast-pace with a gallon of twists and turns that grab your attention. Alongside this, there was danger and action but most importantly I loved how their actions were not what you expected. I also loved the change in motives and secrets revealed near the end, I felt this added a more serious edge to the novel as the circumstances were of more of a realistic setting. The con theme to this novel was certainly fascinating; there are fake ID's, hacking and much more.

This is a highly addictive novel, perfect for fans of Ally Carter; Mary Elizabeth Summer is certainly an author to watch!



Mary Elizabeth Summer is an instructional designer, a mom, a champion of the serial comma, and a pie junkie. Oh, and she sometimes writes books about teenage delinquents saving the day. She lives in Portland, Oregon with her daughter, her partner, and her evil overlor–er, cat. TRUST ME, I'M LYING, a YA mystery, will be released by Delacorte in Fall 2014.



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Popular posts from this blog

[BLOG TOUR] Dead Jed: Adventure of A Middle School Zombie by Scott Craven

Title: Dead Jed: Adventures of A MiddleSchool Zombie
Author: Scott Craven
Publisher: Month9Books
Date of Release: December 1st 2013
Pages: 214

Dead Jed is Shaun of the Dead meets Diary of a Wimpy Kid. Jed's not your typical junior high geek. He is, to use the politically-correct term, cardiovascularly-challenged. And while his parents have attempted to shield him from the implications of being 'different' for as long as they could (Jed was 8 and at a friend's sister's birthday party when he blew his lips off onto the cake in front of everyone, finally prompting the “Big Talk” from his parents and an emergency SuperGlue repair by his dad), 7th grade at Pine Hollow Middle School as a target of Robbie the supreme school bully and his pack of moronic toadies is rapidly becoming unbearable.
From being stuffed in a filled trash can as “dead meat” and into a trophy case as the bully's “prize,” to literally having his hand pulled off in the boys' room (Jed's always l…

REVIEW: Exquisite Captive (Dark Caravan Cycle #1) by Heather Demetrios

Exquisite Captive by Heather Demetrios
Series: Dark Caravan Cycle #1
Published by Corgi Children's on 9th October 2014
Pages: 480
A jinni of tremendous ancient power and Empress to Arjinna, Nalia was sold into slavery on the dark caravan, where jinn are forced to grant wishes and obey their masters’ every command. She’d do anything to be free of the golden shackles that bind her to Malek, her handsome, cruel master, and his lavish Hollywood lifestyle.

Enter Raifthe enigmatic leader of Arjinna’s revolution and Nalia’s sworn enemy. He promises to free Nalia so that she can return to her ravaged homeland and free her imprisoned brother. But freedom comes at a heavy price and danger is everywhere.

In this gorgeous fantasy debut, Heather Demetrios brings to life a deliciously seductive world where a wish can be a curse and shadows are sometimes safer than the light. Magical, thrilling and dark, Exquisite Captive was captivating and enchanting, yet dangerous and cruel, but certainly a uniqu…

REVIEW: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer #1) by Michelle Hodkin

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin
Series: Mara Dyer #1
Published by Simon Pulse UK on 1st March 2012
Pages: 452
When Mara Dyer wakes up in hospital with no memory of how she got there, or any explanation as to why the bizarre accident that caused the deaths of her boyfriend and two best friends left her mysteriously unharmed, her doctors suggest that she start over in a new city, at a new school, and just hope her memories gradually come back. 

But Mara's new start is anything but comforting. She sees the faces of her dead friends everywhere and now she's started to see other peoples deaths before they happen. Is she going crazy? As if dealing with all this isn't enough, Noah Shaw, the most beautiful boy she's ever seen, can't seem to leave her alone. But does he have her best interests at heart, or another agenda altogether? Thrilling, dark, addictive and haunting, The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer was surprising and not what I originally was expecting. I have h…