Skip to main content

[BLOG TOUR & GIVEAWAY] REVIEW: Trust Me, I'm Lying by Mary Elizabeth Summer


 Trust Me, I'm Lying by Mary Elizabeth Summer
Published by Delacorte Press on 14th October 2014
Pages: 336
Source: *Received in exchange for an honest review*

Fans of Ally Carter, especially her Heist Society readers, will love this teen mystery/thriller with sarcastic wit, a hint of romance, and Ocean’s Eleven–inspired action.

Julep Dupree tells lies. A lot of them. She’s a con artist, a master of disguise, and a sophomore at Chicago’s swanky St. Agatha High, where her father, an old-school grifter with a weakness for the ponies, sends her to so she can learn to mingle with the upper crust. For extra spending money Julep doesn’t rely on her dad—she runs petty scams for her classmates while dodging the dean of students and maintaining an A+ (okay, A-) average.

But when she comes home one day to a ransacked apartment and her father gone, Julep’s carefully laid plans for an expenses-paid golden ticket to Yale start to unravel. Even with help from St. Agatha’s resident Prince Charming, Tyler Richland, and her loyal hacker sidekick, Sam, Julep struggles to trace her dad’s trail of clues through a maze of creepy stalkers, hit attempts, family secrets, and worse, the threat of foster care. With everything she has at stake, Julep’s in way over her head . . . but that’s not going to stop her from using every trick in the book to find her dad before his mark finds her. Because that would be criminal.
Addictive, page-turning and smart. Trust Me, I'm Lying will certainly leave a positive lasting impression; a definite read for all Ally Carter fans like myself! I love the cover. So dark and mysterious, with the use of the shadows and necklace really capture your eye.

Julep Dupree is a grifter. An expert in her profession, Julep only learnt from the best… until he goes missing and she finds her apartment turned upside down. With the leader trying to find and capture her, Julep recruits her best friend and hacker Sam alongside the charmingly popular Tyler to help her find her Dad whilst uncovering stalkers, family secrets and a herd of criminals.

"Your story is your best offence; your disguise is your best defense."
Trust Me, I'm Lying by Mary Elizabeth Summer

Julep Dupree was a smart, witty and yet easily likeable character. Julep was a female protagonist who did not rely on anyone else, and though her actions were not always lawful, she had the best intentions to help out those around her. Julep thought carefully through most of her plans which showed maturity and thoughtfulness.What I liked most about her character through the progression of the novel, is she began to find her true self.

"When you can be anybody, you become nobody."
Trust Me, I'm Lying by Mary Elizabeth Summer

The plot of this novel was fast-pace with a gallon of twists and turns that grab your attention. Alongside this, there was danger and action but most importantly I loved how their actions were not what you expected. I also loved the change in motives and secrets revealed near the end, I felt this added a more serious edge to the novel as the circumstances were of more of a realistic setting. The con theme to this novel was certainly fascinating; there are fake ID's, hacking and much more.

This is a highly addictive novel, perfect for fans of Ally Carter; Mary Elizabeth Summer is certainly an author to watch!



Mary Elizabeth Summer is an instructional designer, a mom, a champion of the serial comma, and a pie junkie. Oh, and she sometimes writes books about teenage delinquents saving the day. She lives in Portland, Oregon with her daughter, her partner, and her evil overlor–er, cat. TRUST ME, I'M LYING, a YA mystery, will be released by Delacorte in Fall 2014.



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Popular posts from this blog

[BLOG TOUR] Dead Jed: Adventure of A Middle School Zombie by Scott Craven

Title: Dead Jed: Adventures of A MiddleSchool Zombie
Author: Scott Craven
Publisher: Month9Books
Date of Release: December 1st 2013
Pages: 214

Dead Jed is Shaun of the Dead meets Diary of a Wimpy Kid. Jed's not your typical junior high geek. He is, to use the politically-correct term, cardiovascularly-challenged. And while his parents have attempted to shield him from the implications of being 'different' for as long as they could (Jed was 8 and at a friend's sister's birthday party when he blew his lips off onto the cake in front of everyone, finally prompting the “Big Talk” from his parents and an emergency SuperGlue repair by his dad), 7th grade at Pine Hollow Middle School as a target of Robbie the supreme school bully and his pack of moronic toadies is rapidly becoming unbearable.
From being stuffed in a filled trash can as “dead meat” and into a trophy case as the bully's “prize,” to literally having his hand pulled off in the boys' room (Jed's always l…

REVIEW: Exquisite Captive (Dark Caravan Cycle #1) by Heather Demetrios

Exquisite Captive by Heather Demetrios
Series: Dark Caravan Cycle #1
Published by Corgi Children's on 9th October 2014
Pages: 480
A jinni of tremendous ancient power and Empress to Arjinna, Nalia was sold into slavery on the dark caravan, where jinn are forced to grant wishes and obey their masters’ every command. She’d do anything to be free of the golden shackles that bind her to Malek, her handsome, cruel master, and his lavish Hollywood lifestyle.

Enter Raifthe enigmatic leader of Arjinna’s revolution and Nalia’s sworn enemy. He promises to free Nalia so that she can return to her ravaged homeland and free her imprisoned brother. But freedom comes at a heavy price and danger is everywhere.

In this gorgeous fantasy debut, Heather Demetrios brings to life a deliciously seductive world where a wish can be a curse and shadows are sometimes safer than the light. Magical, thrilling and dark, Exquisite Captive was captivating and enchanting, yet dangerous and cruel, but certainly a uniqu…

REVIEW: The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West

The Fill-In Boyfriendby Kasie West
Published by HarperTeen on 5th May 2015
Pages: 346
When Gia Montgomery's boyfriend, Bradley, dumps her in the parking lot of her high school prom, she has to think fast. After all, she'd been telling her friends about him for months now. This was supposed to be the night she proved he existed. So when she sees a cute guy waiting to pick up his sister, she enlists his help. The task is simple: be her fill-in boyfriend—two hours, zero commitment, a few white lies. After that, she can win back the real Bradley.
The problem is that days after prom, it's not the real Bradley she's thinking about, but the stand-in. The one whose name she doesn't even know. But tracking him down doesn't mean they're done faking a relationship. Gia owes him a favor and his sister intends to see that he collects: his ex-girlfriend's graduation party—three hours, zero commitment, a few white lies.
Just when Gia begins to wonder if she could turn h…