Skip to main content

REVIEW: Red Queen (Red Queen Trilogy #1) by Victoria Aveyard

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
Series: Red Queen Trilogy #1
Published by Orion  on 12th February 2015
Pages: 400
Source: *Received from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

A thrilling new fantasy trilogy for fans of DIVERGENT and THE HUNGER GAMES.

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The poverty-stricken Reds are commoners, living in the shadow of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers.

To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from the Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change.

Then Mare finds herself working at the Silver palace, in the midst of those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control.
I have been rendered speechless. Red Queen is an empowering, dangerous and emotionally-filled novel that will have you holding your breath til the very end. The cover is stunning, absolutely beautiful. I have to own a copy!

Mare Barrow is a Red, set to go to war on her eighteenth birthday. However, when Mare lands a job at the Silver Palace, she changes both everyones lives forever. Possessing the ability of a Silver, her true heritage must be hidden, but that is the last of Mare's worries with the threat of the Scarlett Guard upon them all.

"Anyone can betray anyone."
Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard, e-ARC page 236

Our main protagonist Mare was empowering, strong, fierce, quick, witty and astounding. She is everything you could ever want in a protagonist, she puts others lives before herself, not buckling when her life is in danger as she stood strong for what she believed in; her loyalties to those she cares about are stronger than anything else. Though the romance was a love triangle, this is a very rare book in which it did not take over the plot. It was subtle and was used with effectiveness making the romance shine bright when it was in the spotlight.

"You better hide that heart of yours, Lady Titanos. It won't lead you anywhere you want to go."
Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard, e-ARC page 150

The plot… oh the plot! Like nothing I have read before. It was filled-to-the-brim with action and danger, making you feel part of the world due to the astounding imagery. Every detail was intricately carved, with dark corridors and paths taking you places you never thought the plot would go. One aspect of the novel I appreciated was how Aveyard did not tone anything down, she made the action full on and definitely did not hold back; this enables the reader to be truly immersed into the world she has faultlessly created. A truly astounding and engaging plot that will leave you craving more, especially after that ending!

"'We will rise… Red as the dawn.'"
Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard, e-ARC page 173

Red Queen is a thrilling and edge-of-your-seat thriller that will cause you to gasp, shout-aloud, pull-at-your-heartstrings and make you shout with a warriors cry. Aveyard has certainly written an astonishing debut, and I cannot wait to read her future works.


Popular posts from this blog

[BLOG TOUR] Dead Jed: Adventure of A Middle School Zombie by Scott Craven

Title: Dead Jed: Adventures of A MiddleSchool Zombie
Author: Scott Craven
Publisher: Month9Books
Date of Release: December 1st 2013
Pages: 214

Dead Jed is Shaun of the Dead meets Diary of a Wimpy Kid. Jed's not your typical junior high geek. He is, to use the politically-correct term, cardiovascularly-challenged. And while his parents have attempted to shield him from the implications of being 'different' for as long as they could (Jed was 8 and at a friend's sister's birthday party when he blew his lips off onto the cake in front of everyone, finally prompting the “Big Talk” from his parents and an emergency SuperGlue repair by his dad), 7th grade at Pine Hollow Middle School as a target of Robbie the supreme school bully and his pack of moronic toadies is rapidly becoming unbearable.
From being stuffed in a filled trash can as “dead meat” and into a trophy case as the bully's “prize,” to literally having his hand pulled off in the boys' room (Jed's always l…

REVIEW: Exquisite Captive (Dark Caravan Cycle #1) by Heather Demetrios

Exquisite Captive by Heather Demetrios
Series: Dark Caravan Cycle #1
Published by Corgi Children's on 9th October 2014
Pages: 480
A jinni of tremendous ancient power and Empress to Arjinna, Nalia was sold into slavery on the dark caravan, where jinn are forced to grant wishes and obey their masters’ every command. She’d do anything to be free of the golden shackles that bind her to Malek, her handsome, cruel master, and his lavish Hollywood lifestyle.

Enter Raifthe enigmatic leader of Arjinna’s revolution and Nalia’s sworn enemy. He promises to free Nalia so that she can return to her ravaged homeland and free her imprisoned brother. But freedom comes at a heavy price and danger is everywhere.

In this gorgeous fantasy debut, Heather Demetrios brings to life a deliciously seductive world where a wish can be a curse and shadows are sometimes safer than the light. Magical, thrilling and dark, Exquisite Captive was captivating and enchanting, yet dangerous and cruel, but certainly a uniqu…

REVIEW: The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West

The Fill-In Boyfriendby Kasie West
Published by HarperTeen on 5th May 2015
Pages: 346
When Gia Montgomery's boyfriend, Bradley, dumps her in the parking lot of her high school prom, she has to think fast. After all, she'd been telling her friends about him for months now. This was supposed to be the night she proved he existed. So when she sees a cute guy waiting to pick up his sister, she enlists his help. The task is simple: be her fill-in boyfriend—two hours, zero commitment, a few white lies. After that, she can win back the real Bradley.
The problem is that days after prom, it's not the real Bradley she's thinking about, but the stand-in. The one whose name she doesn't even know. But tracking him down doesn't mean they're done faking a relationship. Gia owes him a favor and his sister intends to see that he collects: his ex-girlfriend's graduation party—three hours, zero commitment, a few white lies.
Just when Gia begins to wonder if she could turn h…