Skip to main content

REVIEW: V is for Villain by Peter Moore

V is for Villain by Peter Moore
Published by Disney Hyperion on 20th May 2014
Pages: 336

Brad Baron is used to looking lame compared to his older brother, Blake. Though Brad's basically a genius, Blake is a superhero in the elite Justice Force. And Brad doesn't measure up at his high school, either, where powers like super-strength and flying are the norm. So when Brad makes friends who are more into political action than weight lifting, he's happy to join a new crew-especially since it means spending more time with Layla, a girl who may or may not have a totally illegal, totally secret super-power. And with her help, Brad begins to hone a dangerous new power of his own.

But when they're pulled into a web of nefarious criminals, high-stakes battles, and startling family secrets, Brad must choose which side he's on. And once he does, there's no turning back.

Perfect for fans of The AvengersIronman, and classic comic books, V is for Villain reveals that it's good to be bad.
I have always loved novels and films about (teen) superheroes, and straight away when I read the synopsis, I had to read it. It reminded me a bit of one of my favourite films as a child which was Sky High; I absolutely loved that film! I love the cover, especially the hardcover as their are so many different textures, it truly stands out.

Brad Baron is the younger brother of Blake Baron, one of the most famous superheroes of all time. Blake is strong, fearless and is a born hero. His younger brother Bard is considered anything but. The opposite of his hero brother, Brad has super intelligence but its not enough for him to become a hero, and so he is enrolled in the Alternative Program. But the last thing he expects to happen, is to join a new team and consider which side he is really fighting for.

The characters of this novel were fun but serious. Though they do things that maybe one would not agree with, when immersed in this world, their opinions and political views are fascinating alongside the lengths they would go to to make people understand. Brad was an intriguing protagonist, I loved the twist with his superpower and felt it really added the spark this novel needed. It was the relationship between himself and his older brother Blake. It was sad to see two brothers fight but this is what really gave the tension in this novel.

The plot was just so action-packed, informative and thrilling. The ideas presented were intriguing and had me captivated the whole time, alongside learning about all the types of superpowers and how one goes about using them. I felt the one thing about this novel that helped it to stand out was that you were reading from the perspective of a villain, not a hero. Brad being a villain really gave the novel the spark, becoming captivating to see their teams perspective and how far they would go to make things right. The back stories and history in this novel were brilliant. The details of the evolvement of the villains was a unique twist and one I did not expect, alongside the format and quotes in this novel as you went along some-what tells you what will happen but not directly; it really teases you.

Therefore V is for Villain is a unique novel that was incredibly explosive and will certainly have you craving a sequel.


Popular posts from this blog

[BLOG TOUR] Dead Jed: Adventure of A Middle School Zombie by Scott Craven

Title: Dead Jed: Adventures of A MiddleSchool Zombie
Author: Scott Craven
Publisher: Month9Books
Date of Release: December 1st 2013
Pages: 214

Dead Jed is Shaun of the Dead meets Diary of a Wimpy Kid. Jed's not your typical junior high geek. He is, to use the politically-correct term, cardiovascularly-challenged. And while his parents have attempted to shield him from the implications of being 'different' for as long as they could (Jed was 8 and at a friend's sister's birthday party when he blew his lips off onto the cake in front of everyone, finally prompting the “Big Talk” from his parents and an emergency SuperGlue repair by his dad), 7th grade at Pine Hollow Middle School as a target of Robbie the supreme school bully and his pack of moronic toadies is rapidly becoming unbearable.
From being stuffed in a filled trash can as “dead meat” and into a trophy case as the bully's “prize,” to literally having his hand pulled off in the boys' room (Jed's always l…

REVIEW: Exquisite Captive (Dark Caravan Cycle #1) by Heather Demetrios

Exquisite Captive by Heather Demetrios
Series: Dark Caravan Cycle #1
Published by Corgi Children's on 9th October 2014
Pages: 480
A jinni of tremendous ancient power and Empress to Arjinna, Nalia was sold into slavery on the dark caravan, where jinn are forced to grant wishes and obey their masters’ every command. She’d do anything to be free of the golden shackles that bind her to Malek, her handsome, cruel master, and his lavish Hollywood lifestyle.

Enter Raifthe enigmatic leader of Arjinna’s revolution and Nalia’s sworn enemy. He promises to free Nalia so that she can return to her ravaged homeland and free her imprisoned brother. But freedom comes at a heavy price and danger is everywhere.

In this gorgeous fantasy debut, Heather Demetrios brings to life a deliciously seductive world where a wish can be a curse and shadows are sometimes safer than the light. Magical, thrilling and dark, Exquisite Captive was captivating and enchanting, yet dangerous and cruel, but certainly a uniqu…

REVIEW: The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West

The Fill-In Boyfriendby Kasie West
Published by HarperTeen on 5th May 2015
Pages: 346
When Gia Montgomery's boyfriend, Bradley, dumps her in the parking lot of her high school prom, she has to think fast. After all, she'd been telling her friends about him for months now. This was supposed to be the night she proved he existed. So when she sees a cute guy waiting to pick up his sister, she enlists his help. The task is simple: be her fill-in boyfriend—two hours, zero commitment, a few white lies. After that, she can win back the real Bradley.
The problem is that days after prom, it's not the real Bradley she's thinking about, but the stand-in. The one whose name she doesn't even know. But tracking him down doesn't mean they're done faking a relationship. Gia owes him a favor and his sister intends to see that he collects: his ex-girlfriend's graduation party—three hours, zero commitment, a few white lies.
Just when Gia begins to wonder if she could turn h…